Wednesday, October 2, 2013

New Favorite Sport - Squash

Beberapa minggu lalu kita diundang maen Squash bareng ama AdindaAnas & Kiki (temen kita di dunia maya yang setelah sekian taun udah temenan di blog, lanjut plurk, trus balik ke blog, trus twitter + lanjut facebook, lanjut twitter lagi, sampe hijrah ke path segala, baru kemaren itu kita ketemu di dunia nyata untuk pertama kalinya ~yaay, akhirnya!), nah sejak itu ada pertanyaan terus terngiang-ngiang di kepala gwe:

"How (the hell is the right way) To Play Squash?"

aaaand after some googling, here goes...


Basic rules and gameplay

The court

 Dimensions for a Singles Court

The squash court is a playing surface surrounded by four walls. The court surface contains a front line separating the front and back of the court and a half court line, separating the left and right hand sides of the back portion of the court, creating three 'boxes' - the front half, the back left quarter and the back right quarter. Both the back two boxes contain smaller service boxes. All of the floor-markings on a squash court are only relevant during serves.
There are four walls to a squash court. The front wall, on which three parallel lines are marked, has the largest playing surface, whilst the back wall, which typically contains the entrance to the court, has the smallest. The out line runs along the top of the front wall, descending along the side walls to the back wall. There are no other markings on the side or back walls. Shots struck above or touching the out line, on any wall, are out. The bottom line of the front wall marks the top of the 'tin', a half metre-high metal area which if struck means that the ball is out. In this way the tin can be seen as analogous to the net in other racquet sports such as tennis. The middle line of the front wall is the service line and is only relevant during serves.


The players spin a racquet to decide who serves first. This player starts the first rally by electing to serve from either the left or right service box. For a legal serve, one of the server's feet must be touching the service box, not touching any part of the service box lines, as the player strikes the ball. After being struck by the racquet, the ball must strike the front wall above the service line and below the out line and land in the opposite back quarter court. The receiving player can choose to volley a serve after it has hit the front wall. If the server wins the point, the two players switch sides for the following point.


After the serve, the players take turns hitting the ball against the front wall, above the tin and below the out line. The ball may strike the side or back walls at any time, as long as it hits below the out line. It must not hit the floor after hitting the racquet and before hitting the front wall. A ball landing on either the out line or the line along the top of the tin is considered to be out. After the ball hits the front wall, it is allowed to bounce once on the floor (and any number of times against the side or back walls) before a player must return it. Players may move anywhere around the court but accidental or deliberate obstruction of the other player's movements is forbidden. Players typically return to the centre of the court after making a shot.

The glass show court used at the 2011 US Open Squash, Daskalakis Athletic Center, Drexel University

Scoring systems

Squash scoring systems have evolved over time. The original scoring system is known as English scoring, also called hand-out scoring. Under this system, if the server wins a rally, they receive a point, while if the returner wins the rally, only the service changes (i.e., the ball goes "hand-out") and no point is given. The first player to reach 9 points wins the game. However, if the score reaches 8–8, the player who was first to reach 8 decides whether the game will be played to 9, as before (called "set one"), or to 10 (called "set two"). At one time this scoring system was preferred in Britain, and also among countries with traditional British ties, such as Australia, Canada, Pakistan, South Africa, India and SriLanka.
The current official scoring system for all levels of professional and amateur squash is called point-a-rally scoring (PARS). In PARS, the winner of a rally always receives a point, regardless of whether they were the server or returner. Games are played to 11, but in contrast to English scoring, players must win by two clear points. That is, if the score reaches 10–10, play continues until one player wins by two points. PARS to 11 is now used on the men's professional tour, and the tin height has been lowered by two inches for the men's professional tournaments (these changes have been made in a hope to shorten the length of the rallies and therefore the match). The women's professional tour uses the original tin height, but started using the PARS to 11 scoring system as of July 2008.

Competition matches are usually played to "best-of-five" (i.e. the first player to win three games)

naaah jelas kaaan??? berarti udah agak2 mirip lah ya Din, Ki, kemaren kita ngeraba2 sendiri ber-4 bikin rules Squash ala Din-Ki-Ret-Dit :)) :))

..dan semenjak kita maen ber-4 itu, gwe & nochans pun langsung semangat teruuus maen Squash lagi .. lagii.. lagiii.. dan lagii (*rencanaaanya -tapi belom kesampean)

More Sources: >> Basic Rules 

*lah ini bukannya mestinya di-gugel SEBELUM kita maen yakkk?? huahahhahaha